Music Monday: Country Throwback (Fishin’ in the Dark)

What’s great about Mondays? This week, it means only two days until my weekend starts. But normally…eh, not much. But I like listening to music to help pick myself up a little and get moving in the mornings and throughout the day.

I used to be one of those people who didn’t like country music at all. When asked what music I liked, my response would be “Pretty much anything BUT country.” Classic rock is one of my boyfriend’s favorite genres and after sharing music for the last three years, I’ve developed a great appreciation for it also. Because of this I’ve also become more conditioned to country music, particularly Johnny Cash and George Strait. My good friend Courtney, a perfect definition of a southern gal, introduced me to one of her favorite songs while growing up in Roscoe, Texas, and I’ve been obsessed so now I’m sharing it with you guys. It’s by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band circa 1987.

Hope everyone has a happy Monday and let the hook put you in an upbeat mood. πŸ™‚

Fishin’ in the Dark

Lazy yellow moon comin’ up tonite,
shinin’ through the trees,
Crickets are singin’ and lightning bugs
are floatin on the breeze
Baby get ready…..

Across the field where the creek turns back by the ol’ stump road
I’m gonna take you to a special place that nobody knows
Baby get ready…..OooooooOooo

You and me going fishing in the dark,
Lying on our backs and countin’ the stars
Where the cool grass grows.
Down by the river in the full moon light,
We’ll be fallin’ in love in the middle of the night
Just movin’ slow…
Stayin’ the whole night through, feels so good to be with you…

Spring is almost over and the summer’s come
and the days are gettin’ long
Waited all winter for the time to be right, just to take you along
Baby get ready…..

And it don’t matter if we sit forever and the fish don’t bite
Jump in the river and cool ourselves from the heat of the night
Baby get ready…..OoooooooOoo.

You and me going fishing in the dark,
Lying on our backs and countin’ the stars
Where the cool grass grows.
Down by the river in the full moon light,
We’ll be fallin’ in love in the middle of the night
Just movin’ slow…
Stayin’ the whole night through, feels so good to be with you…

You and me going fishing in the dark,
Lying on our backs and countin’ the stars
Where the cool grass grows.
Down by the river in the full moon light,
We’ll be fallin’ in love in the middle of the night
Just movin’ slow…
Stayin’ the whole night through, feels so good to be with you…

You and me going fishing in the dark,
Lying on our backs and countin’ the stars
Where the cool grass grows.
Down by the river in the full moon light,
We’ll be fallin’ in love in the middle of the night
Just movin’ slow…
Stayin’ the whole night through, feels so good to be with you…

(Songmeanings)

Leave a Reply

